Friday, 26 August 2011

Life back then

Historical Events - April

1st Inland postal orders come into use in 1905

2nd Wm. W. Cairns, C.M.G. becomes governor, 1874

3rd Port-of-Spain Brotherhood formed with 66 members, 1910

4th Siparia Races, 1913

5th Lt. Gov. Walker arrived, 1860. Princess Marie Louise arrived, 1913

7th Lord Brackley’s Team left, 1905. Sporting Chronicle started, 1907.

9th Presentation by governor to Lt.-Col. J.H. Collens on retirement, 1914

10th Foundation stone of Greyfriars Presbyterian Church laid, 1837

11th J. Bell Smyth died (Eng.), 1905 General Sir I. Hamilton inspects forces, 1911

13th Governor Sir Henry George McLeod arrived, 1840

14th John Joseph died, 1901. First wireless mast erected on wharf, 1913

16th Athletic Sports Scarborough, 1906. Harrison Col. Cricket Team arrived, 1909

17th Gregor Turnbull died, 1879

18th Princess Marie Louise opened New Marie Louise Hall R.V.I., 1913

19th St. Hill’s Cricket Team arrived, 1899

20th John George Haynes died, 1910 Princess Marie Louise left, 1913

21st Klark-Urban Dramatic Co. began

Performances, 1913

22nd Lord Harris arrived, 1846

24th Edward Everard Rushworth D.C.L. (Administrator) 1866

25th Governor Le Hunte and party left for Bolivar, 1912

26th Governor Moloney and party visited Sangre Grande coal borings,1902

27th Prudentia arrived, first oil tank steamer (loading 1,128,755 gals), 1911

29th James Drennan (San Fernando) died, 1905

30th Conrad F. Stollmeyer died, 1904. Government took over Floating Dock, 1910

Source: Franklin’s Yearbook of 1916

Tobago Chronolgy Part 3

compiled by C.R. Ottley

1841 First steamship of Rlyal Mail Steamship line arrives

1843 Metayer system of sugar cultivation established at Prospect estate

1847 Hurricane sweeps the island

1851 Governor Ross dies as a result of falling from his carriage

1852 Land tax introduced

1854 British troops withdraw from Fort King George

1855 Constitution amended. Privy Council and Executive Council set up

1856 First public hospital built

1871 Franchise estended to all land-owners

1872 Disestablishment of the English church

1874 Single chamber act introduced. Twon houses of parliament replaced by Tobago Legislative Council

1876 Belmanna riots at Roxborough. Police routed. Tobago becomes a Crown colony. Legislative Council abolished.

1885 Barbados separated from federation. Tobago’s headquarters moved to Grenada. Grenadians settle in large numbers.

1889 Tobago linked with Trinidad under a Commissioner.

1899 Tobago made a ward of Trinidad

1900 First telephones installed.

Some prices of yesteryear

To retail sprituous liquors for 12 months:

Port-of-Spain: £ 200

San Fernando: £ 100

Other towns: £ 50

Elsewhere: £ 30

To retail ale, beer, wine, porter of cider per annum: £ 7.10

Hotel Spirit License: Port of Spain £ 30, elsewhere £ 15

Occasional license for 24 hours: £ 1

No comments: